A Life Of Sight

I see you
All around these days
I see you
I hope you find your way

I see you friend
I see you working for another
I see your strength failing before the end
Don’t give into pressure or you’ll end up under

I see you in the day
Your life isn’t your way
The work you do brings dismay
You wish you could have gone another way

I see you in the night
You spend it where it’s bright
The dark is a gift for your might
You wish you didn’t spend the day in a fight

I see you standing your ground
You’ve finally taken enough
They never thought you wouldn’t be around
You won’t stay in a place that’s this rough

I see you being finally free
You’ve found what you want in this town
Those who challenged you backed down
You took joy in who you came to be

I see you turning away from me
You’ve gotten what you always dream
Those supporting you don’t like what they see
You travel a path that I can’t be seen

I see you disappear outside of view
You’ve turned from why you didn’t stay
This is the furthest I can go with you
I’ll stand here till you come back one day

I heard you found glory in those hills
I heard you met someone with your skills
I heard you live a new life full of thrill
I heard you didn’t stay when they read her will

I saw you struggle
I saw your anger bubble
I saw you finally leave
I saw you live free
I saw you chase dreams
I saw you excitedly scream
I saw you leave everything
I saw you through anything

You may have forgotten about us
You might never return when it’s rough
You don’t owe us back for anything
You wouldn’t want to give up everything

But we watched you change quickly
But we survived after you quietly
But we all put in for you to get your dreams
But we never stopped to ask what it means

We will always be here
This town wouldn’t let you be free
No one can understand why you left
But I feel your new life in my chest

I see you happy finally
I see you love unconditionally
I see you living peacefully

I see you before you changed
From who you used to be
even if you don’t see me

Money let’s them think they’re free
however it only allows them to be
who they truly want the world to see

Never forget when it was only your dream

Leave a comment