Classroom Law

I know that of what I do when I do
I know that my target is who I choose

Given the task of setting things straight
Given the chance to make someone great

These students of mine are a blessing
These parents of theirs are distressing

By day I teach them life’s lesson
By night I teach their parents correction

Some of my students get better in a session
Some of their parents quickly change forever

Once in a while a student can’t be taught
Once in a while their parents try to talk

I know what I do is for the future of our children
I know what I do is a crime punished by prison

I won’t allow any of my students to be abused
I won’t allow them to destroy our youth

I’m the protector of their fragile minds
I’m the prosecutor of their parents crimes

Whatever it takes to help my students
Whatever it takes to adjust parent rudeness

The words used to poison their esteem
The bruises I will inflict behind the scenes

The cuts I see on their skin
The scars I will carve into them

The broken bones I see them carry
The organs I will sell to cover their therapy

Only once have I had to remove a student
Their home was the realm of nightmare
Only once did I have to act so prudent
Their parents died filled with fright and scare

That student has become another teacher
Like me he has purpose and feature

But I have since moved along now
To another larger known town

I have died many times before
I will die many times more

But my teachings will always remain
I’m the hearts of those who feel pain

Passed along by teachers like me
To students who long to finally be free

One day the stories will be told
Of a series of teachers who acted so cold

Taking the lives of parents who did wrong
Saving the lives of children who wanted to belong

If ever I am called to instruct
My grasp of life isn’t for the unjust

If your in danger of failing my class
I am not inclined to give you a pass

To those who wish to not pay attention
Will be found dead and in detention

Leave a comment