Field of Visions

I awoke in a field of grass,
Surrounded by mountains,
On all sides they encase me,
Looking down on me,
Watching over me.

Before me stood a being,
Its form ever-changing,
Everything I have feared,
Everything I have loved.

“What is this”,
“Everything that will be”,
“When will it be”,
“It will be when you succeed”,
“Who are you”,
“I am who you need”,
“I don’t understand”,
“Everything will come in time”,
“I’m running out of time”.

I watched as it changed,
A grotesque monster was its figure,
The mountains began to sink,
The grass started to burn,
The sky turned dark.

“Why are you doing this”,
“To make you understand”,
“What am I to understand”,
“Everything that will be”,
“When will it be”,
“It will be if you don’t succeed”,
“Tell me what I am supposed to do”,
“Seek out your torment”,
“Am I supposed to suffer”,
“You have suffered for a lifetime”,
“Will my suffering ever end”.

The sky cleared revealing a full moon,
The mountains raised up to the night sky,
The grass sprouted up from the ground.

“What are you trying to show me”,
“The result that will come from your promise”,
“What promise are you talking about”,
“The one that made you who you are”,
“What must I do to keep it”,
“Never give up on your promise”,
“No one will listen though”,
“They will continue to not listen”,
“Then what must I do”,
“Show them what they can not ignore”.

The moon fell behind the mountains,
The sun began to brighten the sky,
The wind blew through the grass.

“How do I show them”,
“Like the sun in the sky”,
“Then will they listen to me”,
“Like the wind on the plains”,
“Will I be able to build it”,
“Like the mountains that reach the stars”.

I finally understood,
Everything past has been instruction,
The true test of all my learning was apparent,
I will succeed.

COPYRIGHT NOTICE!

© Trenton Stalnaker and Around the block and on the bus, 2014-20–. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Trenton Stalnaker and Around the block and on the bus with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.